Laughter

I awoke in the middle of the night last night, laughing. This happens a lot lately. I am often completely aware of what is so funny in the wee hours, but by the time the alarm goes off, whatever it was that tickled my fancy has escaped to the ether of dream land. All that is left is a feeling of happiness, and that joy permeates throughout the rest of my day.  It makes me realize that I laugh a lot more than I cry these days, though I make room for both emotions, and try to ride them through. It’s nice to have laughter back in my life again, and in so much abundance.

I recently got notice that my “Funny Times” subscription was about to expire. It’s a magazine that Jim subscribed to, and left in the bathroom for his reading pleasure. Right after he died, the subscription came up for renewal, and I did so for Jasper. He would often read it cover to cover, and I’d hear him giggling in the living room. Once he left, I started storing it in the bathroom again, and I found myself laughing at the most inappropriate times. Though this was one thing I thought I’d do away with this year, along with the TV service, the newspaper,  and the land phone line, I think I’ll go ahead and renew. Life is a terminal condition, and with all the doom and gloom out there, we could all use a little more laughter.

I had a great Thanksgiving week filled with the laughter and conversation of friends and family. Emerald, her boyfriend, and I headed to Oregon for the holiday. There were 13 of us, ranging in age from 3 months to 90+. So much laughter, so many hugs, so much gratitude. The littlest dude was dealing with an abscess, and cried a lot. We all took turns holding him. Perhaps the kindest thing one human can do for another is to simply hold them while they cry. Crying and laughter. They are what separates humans from other mammals, reminding us that joy and sorrow co-exist in our hearts.

I returned home to a goofy dog and house guests that cared for her while I was gone. Spent some time helping a friend paint and then had another evening of food, laughter,  and conversations about hunting experiences. Reminded again how lucky I am to live here with its abundance of both the natural world and we who live within it. Home, to 9 hours of sleep in my bed. Home, to my swim team and my running partners. Home to the friends and family here that fill my life.

Is it any wonder I awaken laughing?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

