Quilts

Today was my last day for the year in Pullman School District. It was Jasper’s last day of high school. When I got home he was napping. He had a calculus take home final and other homework assignments that had to be turned in today. He was up until after 2 am last night, and leaves for HOBY at 5 am tomorrow. It was a busy day at work for me, and the nice window of weather allowed me to finally mow my lawn. Dinner prep started at 7, one of Jasper’s good friends stopped by, and we all ate pesto pizza as the sun was setting. It was a busy day….they all are lately. Not much time to let it sink in. Jasper’s last day of high school. I now have 2 adult children. I never have to pay attention to the Moscow School District calendar again, and I can throw away the sticky note with the powerschool login numbers. Somehow, we did it. Two kids raised. One in college and gainfully employed for the summer. Another headed to college in the Fall. It hadn’t really sunk in.

Then, as I was finishing the last of the dishes, and Jasper was jumping into the shower, I got a phone call. A friend had a gift for Jasper….not from her, an anonymous gift. This person had read Jasper’s wish crane article in the paper, and felt compelled to create a quilt. I was blown away. It finally sunk in. Yes…we did raise 2 children. Jim played his part, and I played mine. But this community has raised and supported my children in ways that I will NEVER be able to repay. I often did not have the skills, time, or energy in these last few years to give them everything they needed….and someone else ALWAYS stepped in. Random acts of kindness make me cry. It sunk in.

So….thank you to the anonymous artist. And thank you to the community of Moscow….for the gift of the 2 kids that have graced my red table on and off over the last 21 years. I couldn’t have done it without you. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quilts

  1. cord4530 says:

    I love this! What a wonderful gift that is so personally tied to the incredible project that Jasper set in motion. You have two absolutely amazing children, and no doubt they will be sharing their special something across lots of other dinner tables. You done good.

  2. michaellaf says:

    Very cool! Congratulations Kathie, to your community and to Jasper.

Leave a Reply

