Why?

do only the good die young? Contrary to popular belief, one does not “get used to” grief. One does not get better at it with time. Grief has a cumulative effect. Life really sucks sometimes…and continues to do so. Moscow lost another one of its great mountain bikers today. He could ride LaFortunes flight….from the bottom up. I am like a duck in the shooting gallery of life. I see new life coming up on one end, I see folks dropping off at the other. And, every once in a while, someone gets picked off beside me for no good reason. No good reason. Other than life itself is a terminal condition. What are you going to do with this one wild and precious life? May you live it as well as the Jims in my life. Jim Tarter….you will be missed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why?

  1. Kristi says:

    Kathy – We had Jim as an instructor many years ago at LCSC and are also saddened by this news. He was an amazing man and has left an imprint on our lives – we always think back to that amazing English teacher we had with very fond memories. Do you know how he passed away? My heart reaches out to you.

  2. Wendy Shuttleworth says:

    I’m also reeling from this one. Not that I get to Moscow Mountain very often but it always seemed that whenever I did I would run/bike/ski into one Jim or the other. It was a somber run on the Lewiston levies this noontime when Gary broke this news. Two Jims, too soon. I echo you, why?

Leave a Reply

