Green

OK, so I’ll admit. It was hard to come home from Montana to the Palouse. Montana is beautiful. The wildflowers are in raging bloom now. There is blue sky, gray rock, and big, fat brown Ponderosa Pines. But…right now, the Palouse is green. You all know that Windows default desktop….that is the Palouse at this time of year. It is green. And it is warm. So, the green grows visibly day by day. I could not see my running partner’s parked car this morning until I turned onto the road. She was hiding beneath another foot of green, green wheat.

Jasper just got home from Nicaragua. He had a great time. His highlights were helping the locals, green at English, to translate pen pal letters from English to Spanish and back again. And, connecting with kids via soccer, in a green field, where no words of either language were necessary. He also liked that they have a 2 day holiday where they celebrate their teachers. No school. Fiesta. Celebrate the teachers. What a concept. He called a few day before returning home. All he asked for, “something cold, fresh, and green”.  To eat. This…my son who thought, at Thanksgiving, that cold milk, green food coloring….was a perfectly acceptable green food.

Moscow is green. I have a friend that bought a CSA share at Infinity Farms. He is in DC, and asked me to do him a “favor”, and pick up his share this week….and eat it. Major hardship. These guys, Kelly and Russell, link off to the side, create some of the best produce I have ever seen…anywhere. Tonight we ate garlic scape pesto, kale chips, and had a huge salad with some leftover chicken. There will be plenty left for my friend when he returns next Monday…just in time for Rendezvous in the Park (another link) where we get to dance, dance, dance…on the green grass, and beneath the green trees of East City Park.

Tonight there is another storm brewing on the Palouse. The wind is howling from the west. I should have given my friend a ride home after she helped me with consumption of the CSA…but in keeping with the green theme, I rode her home. On my blue bike. Green streamers screaming in the breeze on my westward ride home. And yes….that is a helmet and I wore it.

I love Moscow. It is my green home. I am a green widow…and while Moscow feels like a green, algae filled fishbowl at times, it is also the nest of green softness that has held me for 20+ years. It has my girlfriends that have been my solace for long before Jim was diagnosed. It has multiple big brothers that will protect me, probably more than I want to be,  as I navigate the world of being newly, and greenly, single.

It’s not easy being green: When green is all there is to be, it can make you wonder why, but why wonder. I’m green and it’ll do fine, it’s beautiful, and I think it’s what I want to be. Kermit, the Frog.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Green

  1. Gordon & Judi Allard says:

    How did the old folk tune go? “Green, green — Kingston Trio I think Perhaps you or another blogger could put it together for me. Dad

    • wackywidow says:

      The “Green, Green Grass of Home” one or the “Green Grasses” one by the Kingston Trio?

      • Gordon & Judi Allard says:

        How did the old folk tune go? “Green, green — Kingston Trio I think Perhaps you or another blogger could put it together for me. Dad

        Later: we found it. New Christy Minstrels, “Green Green”, early ’60’s. Us

  2. Mike Mann says:

    Nice photo of Jasper and of the kids at the kitchen table. Sorry to miss the pesto.

  3. Phil Druker says:

    Dig the streamers–very cool.

Leave a Reply

