Uncle

This morning I woke up for coffee before swim practice to discover…Jasper, still up, headed for bed, after pulling an all nighter of homework. We talked briefly. I asked him what he could call uncle on…and he said the morning. I called the attendance hotline and claimed that Jasper was “half dead’, and that he would be in after lunch. Jasper left his homework on the counter. It was his auto-biography for english class. I read it. I laughed, and I cried. No kid should have to go through this.

Wednesdays are supposed to be my days for working on webinars for the Assistive Tech Project. I signed a contract for them in December, due in June. What the hell was I thinking? I knew I couldn’t do them in Jan-Feb…I was doing other work. I thought I would be focused and fine after Spring Break. Then April hit…I was still tired and depressed. It is May…and I am still not there. I cried uncle. I emailed the acting director of the AT project. I pulled the widow card. I needed it, she honored it, we will go have lunch.

The “friend” I had lunch with on Monday was Josh Ritter. He wins the prize for being the first single boy to ask me out for a meal after Jim’s death. I paid, because I am old enough to be his mother. I told him he put on a good act 2 days after heart-break in Spokane. He is a performer. But, I guess I do the same. I get up. I run or swim. I go to work. I laugh, I dance, I write…I tune up lawn mowers, I try to be there for my kids, I make reservations for Burgdorf for Father’s Day/Jim’s Birthday. Josh tells me his sine wave of grief has becomes less….I have to believe that will happen for me.

In the mean time….UNCLE!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

