The Red Sled

Finding out in the last 24 hours that Emerald is now a published author, and the red snowmobile will be used in snow research, has restored my faith, again, in the universe as a benevolent place. How did we get so lucky?

Here is the email that Emerald received this weekend:

Congratulations, Emerald.
We would like to publish your non-fiction piece “A Water Education” in the Summer 2011 Water issue of Camas.  We really enjoy your thoughtful essay that brings light to darkness and solace to sadness.
We have attached a draft of your essay with suggested line edits for clarity and flow.  Please review the edits and send us your feedback by Monday, 3/28.
Congratulations again, and we look forward to seeing your work in print.
Alex & M

You can read her unedited version of the essay on the page section of this blog, or wait until the final version comes out in May by ordering the magazine at the Camas link.

Here is the email I received this evening from HP about the red sled:

Hello Kathie-
First off, I’m truly sorry for your loss…I can’t imagine how difficult it would be to lose your partner.
My research group here at BSU is just getting going, and having “Jim’s sled”, as it will be called from here on out, is going to have an enormous impact.  Last year I only had 1 student and 1 small project, but things have happened quickly, several of my proposals got funded last year and now our group has grown to 1 post-doc, 2 PhD students, 2 Master’s students, and 7 undergraduates all working on snow research.
Our work is focused on improving our ability to estimate snow properties using ground-based radar (which will run on an outrigger on Jim’s sled), remote sensing, and modeling, for water resources (improve streamflow forecasts for agriculture and water supply), funded primarily by NASA.  I also have one avalanche forecasting project funded by Idaho Transportation Department.
With all these people and over 300 lbs of gear that need to get to remote field sites, Jim’s snowmobile will truly make the research possible, at a new scale.  We usually carry all of our gear ourselves on our backcountry skiis, and I must say I have avoided snowmobiles until now because I love doing things under our own power, but the size of our group and amount of gear have changed my thinking.
I didn’t have a snowmobile explicitly in any budget, and its a hard thing to ask funding agencies for.  By keeping the price at the $5k limit, this allows me to use every last penny of my start-up funds that I received when I got this position and avoids a very lengthy uncertain university public bidding procedure and extensive paperwork.  I really appreciate your flexibility with the price, and I consider this a significant donation to our research group.  If you want we could probably get you some documentation on this showing the amount below blue book for your tax purposes – please let me know, I’d be happy to do so.
In May we move into a new building, and Jim’s snowmobile will allow us to bring snow samples down for experiments in my cold lab this summer.  If you are ever in Boise, I would love to take you to some of our nearby sites, introduce you to our team and show you around our lab.
Please do feel free to post a link to my website on your blog:
http://cgiss.boisestate.edu/~hpm
Is there an appropriate site I could link to in order to show people Jim and your contribution to our research?  We will stay in touch and I’ll keep you updated with the research you are contributing so much to.
I should be the one thanking you!  thank you thank you thank you.
sincerely,
HP

Please check out their research on HP’s website, or look at the award posting on the link.

Jim is dead, but he keeps giving, giving, giving. I am doing a happy dance, happy dance, happy dance…..can ya see it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Red Sled

  1. Karen Jennings says:

    Cool stuff, Kathie! The snowmobile and Emerald getting published! You’re right that Jim just continues to give in countless ways.

    Karen

  2. Kristi Overfelt says:

    Wonderful news!!!

Leave a Reply

