Dreams

Last night, I dreamt about wine. Jasper and I spent the night with friends of ours from Jim’s grad school days. They live in Walla Walla, and Kevin is a self avowed wine snob. Any of you that know red wine realize that if you live in Walla Walla, you deserve to be a wine snob. 15 years ago, Walla Walla was a sleepy little town, known for its onions, with less than 5 wineries. Now, this town, with over 100 wineries,  produces some of the best wine in the country, and if last night’s wine is any indication, it is some of the best in the world.

Last night, I dreamt about wine. During dinner we discussed malic and lactic acid in wine. To get good creamy red wine, some of the malic acid needs to be converted to lactic acid. This can occur with good aged barrels, or you can buy the bacteria in a kit if your barrels are still young. In my dream, I told Kevin he did not have to buy the bacteria. It was present, in abundance, in blood, sweat, and tears. If he needed some, I had an endless supply. I was thinking about a partnership. Anything to get more of that Cayuse quality wine!

Last night I dreamt about wine. I was still on vacation. I slept a lot on this trip. Young children kept giving up their beds for me. I slept in a 5-year-old girl’s bed. I watched the sunrise over Mt Hood from a pre-pubescent boy’s. Last night, I slept in the most comfortable 10 year old’s bed right next to her American Girl Doll. I could have had all of their dreams…but last night I dreamt about wine.

I talked to Emerald when I got home. She has hit the books hard before leaving on her own Spring Break to the East Coast. She is sleeping more. (?) She dreams about her dad. He rescues her, hugs her, tells her it will all be OK when the bad guys are out to get her. When I dream about Jim, he is busy. He is talking to someone else, and does not want to be interrupted. And strangely, I do not do so, I do not insist. Last night I dreamt about wine.

Jasper is always awake when I go to sleep. I don’t know what he dreams about. He is quiet, he is day dreaming about his future. I remember that time of my life-like it was yesterday. Being in Corvallis, I day-dream too. What would it be like to move back to OR? Could I start all over again somewhere new? Would I want to? In some ways, it would be easier. But, I would miss my friends. I would miss the red table gatherings. I would miss sharing bottles of wine. Last night, I dreamt about wine.

Last night, I dreamt about wine. I dreamt that all you need is blood, sweat and tears to turn acidic, awful brew into something delicious. I don’t know what this dream means yet. I don’t know where they, or my day-dreams, will take me. I offer up my blood, sweat and tears. I have lots. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dreams

  1. Gerri Sayler says:

    sweet dream /// blood sweat tears /// like a triage that

  2. Joan Jones says:

    I love the last photo…catching whatever comes your way.

  3. Sharon Scroggins says:

    you really need to have another drink of that awesome wine whichever one it is that you pick!!!!!

Leave a Reply

