Mess

Jasper and I are in OR. We are visiting family and old friends, and checking out the engineering school at OSU for potential LaFortune enrollment. We drove the little car. We each packed a bag. One small sack of groceries and a credit card. Simple trip. No outdoor gear beyond a pair of running shoes each.  Little mess.

 

There has been a lot of eating and drinking. A few walks and even fewer runs. Things are close here. There hasn’t even been much car time. Lots of talking, lots of sharing, a movie…and lots of plans to get together again soon. A 18 month old, talkative 5-year-old, crowed kitchen tables and having to go to the neighbors to get more chairs.

 

Jasper and I have been living on our own for the last 3 months. Just he and I rattling around in a big house. Jasper is very easy to live with. He is a teenaged boy, and he sleeps a lot. His food tastes are simple…there just has to be quantities of protein. Jasper is pretty self-contained, and he is neat. He always hangs up his towels, he cleans up after himself, he does his own laundry. He will tell me what is on his mind, but I have to ask.

I miss the mess. I miss coming downstairs in the morning and wondering what happened after I went to bed last night. I miss negotiating how I can get dinner on the table with 3 different schedules all competing for the same 1/2 hour time block. I miss the interrupted conversations. I miss the mess of an intimate relationship, figuring out how to get my needs met without hurting someone else’s feelings or bumping up against their needs.

Trips with a little car and even less gear are fun and refreshing for a change. A life without mess is neat…and not one I chose to live. Yes, we will get together again soon. Bring on the mess! And, no, Jasper, this does not mean I’ll start doing your laundry again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mess

  1. Joan Jones says:

    You know a *lot* of people who smile a *lot*…or maybe you just bring that out in them…

Leave a Reply

