Serial Monogamy

This weekend, I went skiing at the Palouse Divide on Saturday, and on Sunday, hiked in a tank top and shorts on an obscure creek off the Grande Ronde river. It’s February in ID, the longest month of the year, and we are having an unseasonable warm spell. While the rest of the country is still digging out of snow drifts, folks here are donning their shorts and dusting off their grills. They are going on long bike rides. I can’t pull out my bike, yet. It is still ski season. There remains lots of snow in the high country. I am a serial monogamist. Winter is for skiing. When the snow melts, the bikes come out. When the days get really hot in July and August, it is time to head to the river to raft.  Hiking and dancing don’t count. They are like those innocent crushes that we all have…even if we are married. They add spice and excitement, and do no harm as long as they are brief, and not acted upon.

I am a serial monogamist. Jim and I married in our late 20’s. Before me, he had many girlfriends, and I had boyfriends. I tried dating more than one guy for a time while I was living in Tahoe. I think that experiment lasted about 2 weeks. It’s just not me. I am a serial monogamist.  I’ve never really “dated”. I’ve had, and have, friends that are boys. My life has been punctuated by a series of relationships. Some of them very long, like my marriage, some of them quite brief. I am now 50. At some point, I should probably “date”. I am too old to flirt, but I am too young to write off that part of my life. I don’t know how to “date”. I am a serial monogamist. I don’t date, I give my heart. I think I will likely be alone for a long, long time. And that is OK.  I can still pull the feeling I had when Jim and I were becoming. I don’t know if that can happen more than once in a lifetime. It is hard to imagine, but, I have to believe that it can.

I am a serial monogamist. Jasper and I are going to meet Emerald on Friday for a day of skiing. I am looking forward to a backcountry hut trip in a couple of weeks. Then Jasper and I will head to OR for Spring Break. When we get back, I will tune up the bike. If it is still too cold, I will go down in elevation and hike. I will take off my shoes and stick my feet in the river…and I will tell her that, come July, I will be back.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Serial Monogamy

  1. Tina Anderson says:

    Hi Kathy,
    These are beautiful, you are beautiful.
    Thanks for writing again.
    Tina

  2. Tom Lamar says:

    Loved being part of the flirting with hiking and Spring with you last week.

    Thanks for the beautiful piece.

Leave a Reply

